A+FCU will be closed Monday, October 10, for the Federal Holiday.

Find answers to our Frequently Asked Questions.
Posted July 20, 2022

The A+ Education Foundation continues its commitment to education by awarding over $79,700 in grants to 59 Central Texas educators. Altogether, the A+ Education Foundation has awarded over $1.19 million in grants since the program’s inception in 2005.

“We are incredibly honored to be able to recognize and support this group of educators for going above and beyond to enrich student learning,” Georgia L. Johnson, A+ Education Foundation President, said. “Despite facing many challenges these last few years, this group has continued to rise to the occasion. Their commitment to education has not wavered and neither has ours.”

Since 2005, the A+ Education Foundation has awarded 1,201 educators with over $1,197,500 in grants. This year, the A+ Education Foundation was pleased to expand eligibility to include any certified educator employed at a pre-K to 12 school within A+FCU’s field of membership.

Recipients will use grant funds to bring a diverse set of projects to life including:

  • Building a greenhouse and an outdoor classroom
  • Obtaining materials needed to establish coding and book clubs
  • Funding the publication of student-written memoirs
  • Buying toys, flexible seating, and supplies that encourage social and emotional learning
  • Acquiring tools for a multi-sensory space that encourages self-regulation
  • Purchasing a washer and dryer to teach life skills and promote waste reduction
  • Ordering computer science equipment for building and programming robots
2022 Grant Recipients 
Recipient School School District
Kyle Monk Akins ECHS Austin ISD
Rodrigo Joseph Rodriguez Akins ECHS Austin ISD
Ana Portillo Blazier ES Austin ISD
Jessica Davis Bowie HS Austin ISD
Amber West Bowie HS Austin ISD
Eric Roth Clayton ES Austin ISD
Lisa Wenske Clayton ES Austin ISD
Melissa Prepster Gorzycki MS Austin ISD
Noelia Otero Oquendo Houston ES Austin ISD
Patricia Detrich Kocurek ES Austin ISD
Ana Gonzalez Kocurek ES Austin ISD
Michelle Stewart Kocurek ES Austin ISD
Valerie Zhong LASA Austin ISD
Diana McMillan Mathews ES Austin ISD
Naomi Feller Navarro ECHS Austin ISD
Christine Barre Oak Hill ES Austin ISD
Kaitlin Sylvia Oak Hill ES Austin ISD
Kristina Kramer Small MS Austin ISD
Elizabeth Russell Small MS Austin ISD
Sonja Jimenez Uphaus ECC Austin ISD
Grace Fremuth Zilker ES Austin ISD
Jennifer Marshall Zilker ES Austin ISD
Kali Parsons Zilker ES Austin ISD
AJ Pitts Zilker ES Austin ISD
Stacey Shapiro Zilker ES Austin ISD
Elizabeth Vreeland Zilker ES Austin ISD
Elizabeth Lewey Bluebonnet ES Bastrop ISD
Deanna Bodine Emile ES Bastrop ISD
Doedee Vann Emile ES Bastrop ISD
Jennifer Poston Lost Pines ES Bastrop ISD
Erin Segura Dripping Springs HS Dripping Springs ISD
Kari Potter Walnut Springs ES Dripping Springs ISD
Kristina Bishop Forest Trail ES Eanes ISD
Navin Palicherla Florence MS Florence ISD
Glynda Floores East View HS Georgetown ISD
Colleen Montez Williams ES Georgetown ISD
Staci Perkins Fuentes ES Hays CISD
Dina D’Amore   Reeces Creek ES Killeen ISD
Theresa Libios  Camacho ES Leander ISD
Jennifer Evans North ES Leander ISD
Alethea Maldonado Lockhart JHS Lockhart ISD
Barbara Ludden C.D. Fulkes MS Round Rock ISD
Stephanie Cooper Chisholm Trail MS Round Rock ISD
Christina Starnes Deep Wood ES Round Rock ISD
Ginna Hill Fern Bluff ES Round Rock ISD
Kristie Campo Great Oaks ES Round Rock ISD
Jessica Cheyney Great Oaks ES Round Rock ISD
Jenny Weaver Great Oaks ES Round Rock ISD
Bernadette De La Garza Pearson Ranch MS Round Rock ISD
Alex Moore Pearson Ranch MS Round Rock ISD
Joe Gonzalez Round Rock HS Round Rock ISD
Chris Henderson Round Rock HS Round Rock ISD
Dreena Tischler Voigt ES Round Rock ISD
Josh Williams Westwood HS Round Rock ISD
Carol Fernandez Hernandez ES San Marcos CISD
Leslie Anne Adamson Miller MS San Marcos CISD
Joshua Keir Miller MS San Marcos CISD
Susan Bevier Odyssey School  
Norma Stovall St. Austin Catholic School  

Interested in learning when the 2023 A+ Education Foundation grant application opens?